Versatile Blogger Award

Posted on Updated on


I admit that I had been putting off writing about this award for a couple of weeks, mainly because I was trying to figure out how to best fulfill the requirements of what this award entails.  Plus I really have not been feeling well, not that that’s a good excuse.  Now I’m not sure I can list “award-winning chef and author” on my resume, but anything helps in this current job market.  And I send a sincere thanks to Blue Jellybeans for passing the award on to me.

The rules of the award are as follows:  1)  list seven things about yourself; and 2)  pass the award on to 15 others.  So let’s begin.  Seven things about myself. . .

  1. I am a stickler for correct grammar, punctuation, and spelling.  I’m sure that is difficult to see given all the weird vernacular and idioms that I use constantly, ya reckon?
  2. I am a firm believer in “retail therapy”.  Sometimes you really can buy yourself a little happy. . . sometimes
  3. Along those lines, I am a sucker for anything that is a “gift with purchase”.  You mean that all I have to do is spend $50 to get your $2 tote bag?  I am on it!
  4. I am willing to try anything once.  Except maybe seal eye balls and lutefisk (really?  fish soaked in poison?)
  5. When I am sick, one of the things I tend to do is clean.  Like a get-down-on-your-hands-and-knees-and-scrub-with-a-toothbrush kind of clean.  Of course, if I am too sick, I usually just lie down on various surfaces in the house and just moan.  Maybe that’s how I figure out what needs a good cleaning!
  6. I have a background in music.
  7. There are certain movies that I will watch without fail if I find that they are on TV.  These include:  Notting Hill, 50 First Dates, While You Were Sleeping, any of the “good” Star Treks, and any of the Lord of the Rings movies.
  8. I am a Gator, Seminole, and a Spartan (in that order, although I did go to Florida State first), and I’m begrudgingly considering becoming a Wolverine (ugh!).  But really, I love any obscure college team (Go Fighting Okra!)

I guess I did an extra one there.  Lo que sea.  And now to pass the award on!  These are some of the blogs that I read on a regular basis (and these are in alphabetical order), but I know of several that have been nominated already.  If I know that they’ve been nominated, I decided to try to pass this on to someone new.  Some of these folks I’ve been following for some time now.  Some I just started following, and then I realized, I read a lot of their stuff anyway, so why not subscribe?  Here are my 15+1 nominees:

  1. Aubergine & Butterbean
  2. Cakealogue
  3. Clever Muffin
  4. Cooking is Life!
  5. Frugal Feeding
  6. Passioneats
  7. Rufus’ Food and Spirits Guide
  8. Savory Simple
  9. Sensible Lessons
  10. Simply Breakfast
  11. Syrup and Biscuits
  12. Tart to Heart
  13. The Answer is Always Pork
  14. The Hungry Artist
  15. The Little Loaf
  16. The Wholesome RD

Happy Blogging everyone!

14 thoughts on “Versatile Blogger Award

    Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide said:
    October 14, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    Fighting okra, seal eyeballs, thanks for the laughs and the award!

    cookingislife said:
    October 14, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    Nice! i will fill it out soon.

    Jackie @Syrup and Biscuits said:
    October 14, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    Superb! I’ll get on it. Thanks!

    Pennie Tirsch-Azran said:
    October 14, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    Thank you–I’m very flattered! Though, I have to admit, I’m not really sure what I’m supposed to do…

      Jereme's Kitchen responded:
      October 14, 2011 at 10:11 pm

      there are some instructions on my post. you basically share a little bit about yourself before passing the award on to others.

    Hope said:
    October 14, 2011 at 11:11 pm

    Thanks! This is fun 🙂 Now I have all this seven-thing pressure…

      Jereme's Kitchen responded:
      October 14, 2011 at 11:17 pm

      it is oddly ridiculous how much pressure i put on myself about this. it’s not an extraordinary amount, but it was definitely more than your average post

    Aimee@clevermuffin said:
    October 15, 2011 at 12:38 am

    Hey thanks for the award! Made my day. And I hear you on the correct punctuation and grammar thing. My thinking is once you can use it properly then you can feel free to abuse it. Not that I hold my own writing up as a model! But I tells ya some of them youth of today and their writing… it does my head in.

    Edyth Miles said:
    October 15, 2011 at 9:35 am

    Thank you for nominating me. I’ll do some thinking and come up with my list some time today. This is a great way of spreading the word, discovering others with similar passions and getting ourselves known within the blogging community. Curiously, some of your seven (ok, eight) things about yourself sound like they were written by me 🙂

    […] a special note to Just a Smidgen and Jereme’s Kitchen for singling the site out for the Versatile Blogger Award. Our previous picks are here. And thanks […]

    thehungryartist said:
    October 16, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    Thanks, Jereme! It’s an honor to have been chosen! 🙂

    I actually got this award last year — here are my answers:

    http://thehungryartist.wordpress.com/2010/07/29/creamy-green-soup-with-parmesan-croutons-and-award/

    🙂

    Pennie Tirsch-Azran said:
    October 18, 2011 at 10:29 pm

    Here’s my post acknowledging the award: http://passioneats.blogspot.com/2011/10/no-100.html
    Thanks again!

    lulu said:
    October 28, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    A Seminole, huhn? Me too. Came to your blog via your like for my post and am so glad. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed browsing and will continue to do so. Come visit again.

Leave a comment